ASC-1 Remote

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by RT-Cat, Sep 24, 2016.

  1. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    Anyone have a remote to the ASC-1 they want to sell cheap? I know of someone that managed to, well, do something to the one they had and it can no longer be located. Six hours of house searching over three days and nothing. If I had a dog, I would guess they took it.
     
  2. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Have new spare remotes available if no one else has an orphan.
     
    KE4EST likes this.
  3. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    Actually, it would be odd if someone did have one. It would make you think of what did they do with their ASC-1? Turn it into a boat anchor? Heavy enough, but a waste of good electronics.
    Ti, I will check with you in a day or two.
    Thanks
     
  4. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    There are a hundred or so first generation ASC1's that we replaced the first month, so there are likely still some unused remotes out there... :)
     
    KE4EST likes this.
  5. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,521
    Likes Received:
    4,887
    Location:
    EM75xb
    I thought the same thing, but didn't post. :)
     
    Titanium likes this.
  6. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    Ah, yes, I remember that event. If I recall correctly the China people put in cheaper parts that you would not allow.
    I will wait and see what comes up.
     
  7. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    3,776
    Location:
    Montana
    I was thinking I had one but remembered where they all went. I scrapped a 1st gen,but it had a bad remote. Oddly only the on/off button worked. The ASC1 I have up didn't come with a remote, But I had other 1st gen so I'm good. And I gave the third one away already.
     
  8. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,335
    Likes Received:
    6,517
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    A PCB line production engineer had made an unapproved redesign resulting in the blocking 22KHz/DiSEqC control signal pass through.

    Many hobbyists continue to use one of these original defective units as they either made the component modification that we provided or their system did not require 22KHz/DiSEqC pass-through.

    Let me know if you need a replacement. :)
     
  9. armadillo_115

    armadillo_115 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Posts:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Virginia
    It would be cool if all remotes had a locater beeper built in like most cordless phones have.It would save me many hours of searching in a lifetime. :eureka

    I guess it would require a separate 'sending unit' with a push button though. Those could be mounted near the tv, for instance.

    While on that subject: I also wish FTA receiver remotes had a headphone plug like the Roku. Really nice to be able to watch late nite tv without the audio disturbing the whole household. ( Or midnite porn while mama is asleep) :popcorn :clapping
     
  10. RT-Cat

    RT-Cat Topic Starter "My person-well trained" Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    197
    Location:
    Cold, Cold,Michigan USA
    I had a TV years ago that if you powered it up from the front panel switch the remote would chirp a little. That was useful a time or two. Maybe I should put a tracker on my remote like I have on my quad copter.:)
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...