Blindscanning

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Ramthebuffs

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
May 4, 2007
I'm curious how you are supposed to find channels without blindscanning? Do some of the secondary software companies do the scanning? I'm really not sure how this works, but I need to get a box thrown together and get something setup in the next week or so.

you need to know all the details about the transponders.. the freq, weather it's h/v/l/r, etc.

I sometimes blind scan with my coolsat then enter the data into my pc app

I also blind scan with my Pansat and input the frequency and symbol rate on my Twinhan PC card for HD and 4:2:2 feeds that my Pansat can not decode.

There are a few PC cards that can blindscan but I think they can not decode HD and 4:2:2, they are also hard to find.

I'm no pro @ this sort of thing, I'm not exactly sure how transponders work and if they change etc. But could you just compile a big ass list of channels and not delete them out instead of manually entering everything all the time?

Also, how easy is it to manually enter these things?

it isnt that easy...Here is why

News feeds reuse the same transponders all the time. But they have different symbol rates

So newschannel A may be at 12000 H 3978 (example...freq, pol, sr)
newschannel B may be at 12000 H 2170
newschannel C may be at 12000 H 6789
etc
etc
etc

There are a couple feeds for sports that keep the same info but those transponders get reused when said sports team is not playing. So I may scan and find the same frequency but different symbol rate.

With the Digistar/Digiwave 103G (Geniatech) there seems to be a downside to big ass lists. They are easy enough to create since the sanctioned programme ProgDVB uses ini files with details of transponders to be scanned. Those supplied, even by the Joshyfun site tend to stick everything in (BAL if that is what you are looking for).