C band analog to digital conversion

Status
Please reply by conversation.

rmcel123

Original poster
Feb 11, 2009
Ontario
Lets try this again...first post didn't show up!

We are an academic institute that used to receive NASA on a large C band analog system. Nasa changed to digital C band back in 2005 and we now need to get our system up and running again.

I am no expert on this but all indications are that I need a new receiver and LNB to receive digital C band. We only receive one channel so I don't need a fancy receiver. I would like to keep using the present 10' dish on the roof if possible.

What do I need to make this happen? Recommendations on a receiver and LNB to use? Can I reuse the dish?

Thanks

Dave

Any good digitally compatible C-band LNB will do...you might consider the NORSAT 8215 as a compromise that offers 250 KHz stability, without going to the expense of a PLL device, which is unnecessary for this service.

Receiver: if you are running a single channel for a headend, I would recommend the Traxis DBS-3800, a close cousin of the highly rated DBS-3500. It also includes a rack-mount housing plus a front panel switch that allows infrared remote receptor to be turned off. With the price of these receivers, you might consider multiple channel reception from NASA---there are three fulltime standard definition channels in the digital multiplex from either 137 West or 72 West.

Should you wish to receive their HD channel, a number of different receivers can be considered, including the Pansat 9200 and others.

Your existing dish should be fine, and unless your existing LNB (LNA?) is rather old it will probably be fine also (assuming it still works). You don't necessarily need a new LNB to view digital signals, most reasonably current units will do analog & digital.

Any decent DVB receiver will allow you to view the standard definition channels, as Mike said above you will need something with HD reception capabilities to view the high definition feed.