C band and manhattan skyline 1000

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Metalhead

Original poster
Sep 2, 2005
I am a newbie with FTA and for about 2 weeks now, I've been reading like crazy trying to suck up everything about FTA and DVB. I have had a C-band since the early 90's, and just decided to dust off the equipment and see what this FTA thing is all about.

I decided before I spend tons of money on the wrong equipment, I'd ask the experts (here) about what they think. Here is my setup.

SAMI 10' mesh dish with 1/8 " holes.
California Amplifier C band only (for now) LNB with Feedhorn and servo
Venture 24" maxi (new just replaced because the old one rusted out and did not work)
GI 2720R Analog receiver (borrowed)
Manhattan Skyline 1000 DVB Mpeg w/DiseqC controls (borrowed)

Ok, I've hooked it back up and decided to first program as many C band Sats as I could locate using Lyngsat and others places. I still get VERY good reception and found most of them with free analog feeds still showing, so I know the GI and the BUD is still working.

I have been trying for days to find out what I need to do to hook up the manhattan to receive ANY FTA channels on ANY C band frequency, but alas no channels are found, even going to program the specific FTA channels on the skyline. I have the C band lnb feed going to the manhattan first then loop out to the GI receiver. I still get clear C band channels this way but no FTA through the manhattan (no diseqc needed). The signal strength on the Manhattan says 82 % but it finds NO channels, on any satellite I put in there positioned using the analog receiver. Do I need a different LNB, feedhorn, or a FTA receiver? I can't even get 1 FTA C band channel on any satellite?
I don't know what else to do. Any input would be appreciated. If I've left any setup details out, let me know.

Metalhead,