Comcast increases Broadband speeds

Discussion in 'Cable and Fiber Providers' started by Juan, Oct 11, 2019 at 7:50 AM.

  1. Juan

    Juan Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    22,989
    Likes Received:
    4,787
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    ncted likes this.
  2. Phil T

    Phil T SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    202
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Littleton, Colorado
    My download speed went up a few weeks ago. I pay for 150/5 and now get 208/6. I wish they would rase the upload speed more.
     
  3. Juan

    Juan Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    22,989
    Likes Received:
    4,787
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Might be how your router is set up....I had a similar issue...turned out to be a traffic shaping issue in the router....I was suddenly able to get 15 up
    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  4. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,625
    Likes Received:
    2,316
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Not all of the franchises have been spending much time on rearranging their uplink configuration. My speed has been bumped twice (30 -> 60 -> 75 Mbps) and the upload speed (5 Mbps) hasn't changed.
     
  5. theBruce

    theBruce Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Posts:
    4,213
    Likes Received:
    3,123
    I have the 1G speed and the fastest my upload hits is between 40-50.

    Sent from my LML713DL using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  6. dodger72

    dodger72 SatelliteGuys Pro Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Posts:
    2,720
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Anderson, California, United States
    suppose to have 100 but I only get 50
     
  7. Juan

    Juan Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    22,989
    Likes Received:
    4,787
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Just seems odd...unless of course they don't want residential customers running a business
    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  8. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    15,625
    Likes Received:
    2,316
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Comcast makes that abundantly clear in their Terms of Service:
     
  9. Juan

    Juan Topic Starter Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    22,989
    Likes Received:
    4,787
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    duh
     
  10. EarDemon

    EarDemon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    507
    Location:
    USA
    Significant increases in upload speeds over DOCSIS won't happen until DOCSIS 4.0 fka DOCSIS 3.1FD is widely adapted. I believe the standard has been finalized by CableLabs and just waiting on hardware manufactures to start producing the appropriate headend equipment and CPE. The fastest upload speed currently seen on cable in around 60 Mbps on the Gigabit tiers from smaller outfits like Mediacom, Atlantic BB, Grande and RCN. The big guys, Comcast, Charter and Cox, top out at 40 Mbps
     
    Rey and ncted like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...