Connecting new TV antenna to old preamp

Satguyfan

Original poster
Dec 12, 2009
midwest
I have an old Channel Master 0064-DSB Pre Amplifier with a 300 Ohm (flat lead) input and I just bought a new Antennas Direct DB8 antenna with a 75 Ohm (coaxial) output. Is their anyway I can connect these together or do I have to buy a new Pre Amp with a 75 Ohm input? Thanks for any help.

I have an old Channel Master 0064-DSB Pre Amplifier with a 300 Ohm (flat lead) input and I just bought a new Antennas Direct DB8 antenna with a 75 Ohm (coaxial) output. Is their anyway I can connect these together or do I have to buy a new Pre Amp with a 75 Ohm input? Thanks for any help.

You can, not sure why but it would require the use of a outdoor matching transformer( Balun), but I wouldn't do it as the benefit of using the 75ohm cable just out weights the old 300 stuff.

Last edited:
Well another balun could eat 2 to 3 dB out of your antenna gain basically making your antenna no better than a DB4. If you're up for a challenge you could make your own replacement for that aluminum strip balun assembly. You would need to make a terminal for 300 ohm cable equal distance from the two 4 bays. If not using metal strips then heavy gauge wire like the antenna should be used and the wires need to be separated by a certain distance like the strips were.

I don't know your situation with what stations you are trying to receive so all of this may be unnecessary.

I think I will just bite the bullet and buy a Channel Master CM7777 Preamp. The Channel Master 0064-DSB has worked very well for me so I hate to retire it. As a matter of fact I have barely had to touch my antenna for probably ten years so I didn't even know that my preamp had a 300 Ohm input until I looked at it a few days ago. This is turning out to cost more than I had hoped but I know that in the long run it pays to do it right. You have all been very helpful. Thanks for your replies.

Last edited: