Did I just "brick" a Sonicview 360 Premium??

Status
Please reply by conversation.
other side of the coin

Well, even more importantly, now we can get a proper review of a receiver I'd previously never consider!
Not even as a door stop. :eek:

Some more to add ...

I have a similar problem with my SV360-P but this one uses a security chip on Smart Card PCB connector (J7) to act as a SKS dongle.
Also Version is diferent from Iceberg photos "SV360 Premier / Rev0.8 / Mar.06.2009"
Unit boot ok, main start ok , but can not upgrade.
Fails:
RCU dont work even activating it from OK button on front pannel.
Rs232 loader dont work, keeps waiting for STB reset forever.
Tryed everything here in this post without success, also removed security chip.
Force USB loader keep black screen ... My TV connected with component AV.
Changed to CVBS and voila !! USB loader menu on screen.
Updated with factory firmware and unit is responsive again.
Thanks for this usefull thread!!

well I started playing with this a little more and have some good and bad (I'll do more trials and testing later today). This is in no way a "review" but a quick "good and bad" of it :)

Good
-motor control is spot on for Diseqc 1.2 (I refuse to use USALS...force of habit)
-multiple step fine tuning (can step 1,2,3,4,5 or continuous)...made setting up satellites a snap. Set to "5" and press west 4 times...boom you're pretty much honed in on the next satellite 2 degrees away
-adding TP's is a breeze (I'll get to the reason why I'm happy its a breeze)
-press a button while watching TV and the motor option shows up to fine tune if need be
-one button scans from main menu makes it very easy to scan
-simple yet effective menus
-front and back USB ports
-with a hard drive hooked up, one of the options is to have folders set up to put programs in.
-quick access to sat list
-when playing back a program you can change audio settings if need be (this is good when you record a channel that has only one side of audio)