different satellites, different channels, d*/e*...confused

aliaga61

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Sep 16, 2004
Cincinnati, OH
:confused:
this is probably a dumb question...but i'm completely new to the whole dish system (other than helping my brother install one years back [and doing a poor job at that]), so bear with me.

i've seen talk and have read the charts about different channels being carried on different satellites, depending on where you're aiming your dish. i know that some of the locations depend on where you're located...but from what i gather from the discussions...you can be in one location (cincinnati in my case) and aim your dish at more than one satellite? if this is the case, i assume that it's not as easy as just pointing your dish elsewhere and getting different channels...you have to be signed up for them through d* or e*.

and related....if a d* and an e* dish are pointed at the same satellite (assuming they are), why can you not get some of the channels off of e* that d* can get. for example - sun dance?

DISH broadcasts its channels from various satellites. Its primary satellites are at 110 degress and 119 degrees. Some locals are broadcast on the its other satellites.

This list shows all of DISH's channels, what satellite they are being broadcast from and various other helpful information.

yeah, i read that one a little bit ago...and that's what sparked a lot of my confusion...there are many more channels there than what it shows on dish's web site for their channel lineup...is their list on their site not up to date, or does the list that you posted the link to depend on your location?

aliaga61 - The same point in the sky, aka 119, 110, etc, does not necessarily mean the same physical satellite. More than one satellite can exist at a particular slot.