DirecTivo? When?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

davidness

Original poster
Jul 11, 2011
Florida
I have been a very long time user of DirecTV/DirecTivo (Standard Definition still... yikes!) and I love it. I have been waiting, and waiting for a HD DirecTivo. I see announcements every couple of years indicating that it'll be out soon, but I've been waiting now for several years, reading that it'll be available in just a couple of months. This has been going on for years (I feel like a sucker).

I am a newbie here, but I searched this forum and didn't see any discussion of this topic.

Does anybody really know what the latest news is as of July 2011? (Please, only solid news). I really need to move to a HD DVR, and I can't wait too much longer.

I dont think there is any recent news on it other than it is most likely still coming. Id say just go ahead and move up to the HR series HD DVRs and quit waiting. But thats just me.

In any case, welcome to the forum.

There is no hard news. Some think it may never come about. Now that TiVO & Dish have settled, maybe they can put some resources into it.

I agree with the previous statement. Take a look at the 25.

I don't see the draw to the Tivo brand. I had a Tivo years ago and I wasn't a fan. All it really gives you is a cute UI and "thumbs up/down" buttons, a feature that is wasted on me because it rarely recommended anything I was interested in (Netflix recommendations don't work for me either). To me Tivo is to DVR what AOL was to the internet: training wheels and fluff.

And navy, there is no '25' DVR. There's only the H25 receiver. The HR24 is the top DVR right now (aside from the HR34 server, but that's not being actively installed yet).

If I were him, I would wait for the HR34. At least we know that's coming out for sure and that it's going to be awesome, unlike the Directivo where after 3 years, we still don't know much about it.