directv eliminating standard receivers?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by spgeboob, Sep 18, 2018.

  1. spgeboob

    spgeboob Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    detroit
    I heard from someone that Directv will be eliminating the standard recievers and going to HD receivers in 6 months. Any truth to this??
     
  2. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,724
    Likes Received:
    575
    Location:
    Md
    they are eliminating mpeg2
    current sd is in mpeg 2, any sd leftover will be in mpeg4
     
  3. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    45,226
    Likes Received:
    10,303
    Location:
    Northern VA
    So yes, any remaining MPEG-2 only receivers will be phased out.

    It’s not exactly SD vs HD, but the overlap is there. Future transmissions will only be in MPEG-4 and everyone will need a MPEG-4 capable box.

    Sent from my iPhone using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  4. spgeboob

    spgeboob Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    detroit
    mine is a D12-500...so is that an mpeg-2?

    thnx
     
  5. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,724
    Likes Received:
    575
    Location:
    Md
    edit: i think i was wrong
     
  6. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,135
    Likes Received:
    8,810
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    :welcome to Satelliteguys spgeboob!

    Your receiver will be a door stop soon, IIRC in April next year. It's likely Directv will send you a replacement at no cost. And yes, mpeg2 is going away, which most sd programming is. All signals will be mpeg4, which is why you will need the hd boxes. They are all mpeg4.
     
  7. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    IA
    If you have a D12-500 you should have received a letter or email from Directv regarding this already. Have you not received anything?
     
  8. spgeboob

    spgeboob Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    detroit
    so that also means that my outside dish is toast also?

    what kind of dish would I need?

    would it also have to have a power supply? And would it need 3 lnbs?

    thnks
     
  9. spgeboob

    spgeboob Topic Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    detroit
    I have a work buddy who has the subscription and I just use the extra receiver at my house.....
     
  10. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,135
    Likes Received:
    8,810
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Depends upon the type of dish you have. You will need a slimline dish and ka/ku type lnb. It could be a 3 or 5 lnb type.
     
  11. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,135
    Likes Received:
    8,810
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    That's called account stacking and not allowed by your terms of service. We don't allow talk about it here.
     
  12. JohnL

    JohnL Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Spencerport, NY
    I tried to have my D12 (which is located at my Boat) replaced by DirecTV under their replacement policy for SD hardware. DirecTV steadfastly refuses to offer me anything but a Client, which I will not accept. I only want STB's with their own tuners. I do NOT want to subtract any available tuners from my Genie as it will cause Timer Conflicts.

    So I currently still use my D12.
     
  13. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,135
    Likes Received:
    8,810
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Which Genie do you have? Assuming it's not an HS17, I'm sure once next April is approaching they will offer an H24 to you.
     
  14. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,135
    Likes Received:
    8,810
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Which Genie do you have? Assuming it's not an HS17, I'm sure once next April is approaching they will offer an H24 to you.
     
  15. JohnL

    JohnL Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Spencerport, NY
    I have a HR44.
     
  16. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,724
    Likes Received:
    575
    Location:
    Md
    are the d12 and the hr44 on the same account? with the hr44 at home and the d12 on the boat?
     
  17. JohnL

    JohnL Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Spencerport, NY
    Yes, I'm considering replacing my DirecTV service for my Boat with a Dish Account specifically just for my boat as I will able to have my Local Channels at my boat (Once DirecTV removes all KU band Local into Local). As well as true HD service at my Boat, it all depends on how DirecTV handles their MPEG2 to MPEG4 migration
     
  18. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,135
    Likes Received:
    8,810
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    It may have something to do with you already having a Genie. Did they send you an email about this?
     
  19. JohnL

    JohnL Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Spencerport, NY
    Yes, got a mailer and several emails about this. I called DirecTV and nobody could provide any information related to the migration. My last mailer told me I'd lose my SD Locals on July 9th 2018, well they are still on at my Boat on my D12. Sadly, installing any In-motion solution to replace my current hardware at my boat is totally Monetarily impossible for me after checking it would mean scrapping my current Dish (roughly $1500) for a $7000 or more dollar Unit. My current in-motion solution can receive only KU Band and can work with DirecTV KU Band services (Whether that would be SD or HD, but we both know DirecTV has ZERO KU Band HD) and all SD/HD service's either Eastern or Western Arc for Dish Network.
     
  20. slice1900

    slice1900 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    463
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    IA
    You sure the mailer said July 9th 2018, and not July 9th 2019? I haven't heard of anyone being told they'd lose their locals anytime earlier than April of next year.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...