Dish Cinema VOD not working - seems like it's playing but no video/audio

jdr01930

Pub Member / Supporter
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Feb 28, 2005
Gloucester, MA
I'm trying Dish Cinema for the first time. I have broadband setup etc OK (I'm a computer/network tech by trade).

Short Version: Trying to watch Predators (hey its free!), screen is black/no audio.
But if I hit Pause/Info/FF/RR it acts like it would if it was playing something (little pause icons, etc).
But that something is just blackness, The Vast Emptiness.

The Long Version:
To get started, From the main DVR screen I selected the little Predators icon on lower left of screen. The whole DVR froze for about 10 minutes, cant get response from anything so I hard booted. Try again, same thing. Go in a slightly different way, get message that requires I check OK to allow Dish Cinema do download stuff - hey maybe that's it. I also reset Broadband connection. Now there's nothing in list, but shortly there after the list is redownloaded and there. I select Predators and try to play - It says Predators will begin playing shortly - then - - vast emptiness of black screen.
I can go back out and watch live TV, DVR. If I go in and select my rentals and its listed - but if I play it's like 2 hours of blank silence.

What gives? And I hope I dont end up gettting charged, as I just read some stuff that says Free is free for SD only!

I noticed that behavior when I tried to play a Dish Cinema VOD movie that turned out not to be free (as I thought). I have my VOD credit limit set to $0, so I can explain this on my account.