Dish Network and Landlines

JohnNicks

Original poster
Jul 6, 2007
Howdy

Just curious

How many times in a month does a normal Dish Netowork receiver call out to Dish Network? and
What is the purpose of having a receiver hooked up to the phone outside of paying an extra 5 a month for?

and BTW, I or my family don't order PPV
Does my receivers call out if I was to order one?

I have the 311 (Standard) and a DVR 522.

It generaly checks several times in a day, the 522 is a dual tuner and requires the phone line connection, if there is no phone connection then you have to pay and additional receiver fee for the second tuner. Some say its to prevent account stacking but its an effective marketing tool to make it easier for you to order ppv events.

I'm a dish network installer,

There are a few things the phone lines are used for..

A. Of course for easy access to PPV movies.

B. Rather then using the SAT to take software updates, the hardrives would dial out between 3 - 5am to recieve updates to keep your system up to date, if you dont update you may find missing channels, buttons not working, guide outdated and other problems. It can update through the SAT, but this is when they charge you the addtional $5. per month, because
"you're using up bandwith on the SAT to take updates for a duel rcvr"

C. Gives you caller ID on your TV's connected to those receivers w/ phone lines. (if you dont see this you can enable it in the menu)
press
'menu'
'6'
'1'
'caller ID'
'enable'
'exit menus'

there now when someone calls the name and number as shows up on your telephone will pop on the top of your screen.

B. Rather then using the SAT to take software updates, the hardrives would dial out between 3 - 5am to recieve updates to keep your system up to date, if you dont update you may find missing channels, buttons not working, guide outdated and other problems. It can update through the SAT, but this is when they charge you the addtional $5. per month, because