ZandarKoad

Amish Satellite Technician
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Lifetime Supporter
Apr 13, 2005
Nashville, TN
Dishnetwork MANDATES Incompetance

I've been doing installs for over three years. I estimate my new installs at somewhere around 2,000. Since day one I've given customers my PERSONAL CELL PHONE NUMBER to ensure that their system is working or it's MY PROBLEM.

If you were a customer would you like to talk to a guy in a cubicle in India who's never physically touched a Dish?

Or would you rather talk to the SAME PERSON who was at your house, did 2000 installs, and speaks English as his first language?

Personally, I would like to have an option. I would like to be able to get ahold of the original tech AND I would like the option of calling the guy in India. Sorry Charlie's customers. No such luck.

Dishnetwork now forbids technicians (in our state at least) from leaving ANY PHONE NUMBERS WHATSOEVER (except the 1-800-333-3474 number) in the customer's house, on the paperwork, in the account notes, or anywhere else. Penalties for violating this policy include WEEKS of suspensions.

I've had customers who've called me AFTER they spent HOURS on the phone with CSRs, and they were ecstatic to finally speak to someone who knew English. Well, thanks to this policy I'll never have to talk to another customer again on the phone (kinda nice actually) and our Trouble Call rating will probably double at least (not so nice).

Lets here it for Customer Dis-Service!!! HIP-HIP-HURRAY!!! :eek:

Last edited:
Damn. I feel for you guys. Why does Dish continue to make ass backwards decisions?