Do it all over again..

Status
Please reply by conversation.

simplekid

Original poster
Oct 23, 2006
if you could do it all over again, will you sign up with Directv, or go with Dish/Cable? I am a newbie with D* (1 month) and most of the post are negative towards D*.

D* much better than E* but not perfect, cable passes the end of the street but not available. Internet is the only part of cable that is interesting.

Much of it depends on your starting-point. I chose D* because my local comcrap franchise was totally inept; and I lived in the NY region, where E* still does not carry the YES (Yankees') channel. I also lived 60+ miles from NYC and 60+ miles from Hartford, and between 2 hills, so I got zero OTA. I'd definitely choose D* again.

Despite having some moving/installation problems in NC, I'd still probably do the same. The local TimeWarner franchise is not overwhelming. Cost is roughly equal. I've gotten a ton of OTA channels just using simple rabbit-ears.

FWIW, I have cable broadband (8 MBps) and the discounted rates still don't encourage me to drop D* in favor of TWC.

If it was now - I'd do cable, at least in MY area...
-More HD channels than D*, ALL of our locals are now in HD, (INCLUDING 2 PBS's & CW) plus they just added 3 new national ones, including MHD. They also are carrying all of the current SD subchannels our locals have (The Tube, PBS Create, etc)
-EVERY premium channel multiplex feed, including all 8 Cinemax's
-NO or minimal upfront cost to get dual-tuner HD DVR's installed & they will let you get as many as you want. (many folks I know have 2)
-Except for NO Boomerang, they carry all of the SD stuff that I use from D*
-NO extra charge for 70 channels on ALL TV's
-Even the analog expanded basic service has better overall picture quality than D*, not only at my place, but at most clients homes I go to that have it. (read: NOT being compressed to the MAX)
-They still have all 45+ Music Choice channels - I can't stand XM!