First Dish!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

big_hemi

Original poster
Mar 30, 2009
East Coast USA
First Post! I'm new to the whole C-Band thing but I remember watching stuff at a friends house when I was a kid, like Hockey Night in Canada and other stuff we didn't have on the OTA antenna. I've been lurking in these forums for a while, and now I'm in the planning stages of getting all of the stuff for C/Ku.

I've read many posts where people go "dish hunting" and I finally got the stones to try it myself. I found this dish at a motel in my area so I went and did a knock & talk. The owner said he bought it in 1984, and total cost installed with receiver was around $9,500.

I can see it is a Wineguard and its 10' in diameter. The stainless steel mesh is in excellent condition, no deformities or blemishes that I could see. The mount has a bit of surface rust but I don't think that is a big issue. The pole is bolted to a concrete pad approx. 4" below the grass so removal won't be a problem. And it's a square pole, haven't seen too many of them in this forum.

He said the actuator does not work but he doesn't know why. He quit using it about a year ago when he got "one of them small dishes..." He used some sort of hand crank to lower the dish to the position it is in now.

It looks like just a C-band LNB but I can't get any more information unless I pop the cover off.

I asked him how much he wanted for it. He said $200. I think I might be able to get him down a bit. What do you experts think? I can take it anytime I want but I won't be installing it for at least a year until we move into our new place. And the owner doesn't have any of the manuals or receivers anymore.

Here are some pictures. I'd appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

Attachments

• SNC00001.jpg
    SNC00001.jpg
    114.6 KB · Views: 197
  • SNC00012.jpg
    SNC00012.jpg
    73.1 KB · Views: 132
  • SNC00011.jpg
    SNC00011.jpg
    95.9 KB · Views: 153
  • SNC00010.jpg
    SNC00010.jpg