FTA newbie requesting some advise!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

cyunquer

Original poster
Apr 26, 2011
Newark, NJ
Hello guys!
As I said before I'm new at all FTA matters but willing to take some new challenges. I've been reading around, you know doing my homework on what these FTA deal was all about until it was time to get my hands dirty and my behind numbed
wink.gif
. I've already set everything up; post (
plumb), dish with motor, LNBF and receiver, now, after setting latitude, longitude and azimuth I'm still getting a 45% of signal Int. and 5% of signal quality, moved it bit by bit east to west and up and down without having much result.

Questions:
1. I would like to understand better how to deal with the transponders (active or dead and where do I get this info.) and LNB freq. when trying to acquire one of these birds.
2. Is my dish elevation correct and does it vary depending on the sat I'm looking for?
3.Which satellite should I start with that has a good strong transponders?

Location Info.
Newark, NJ 07104
Latitude: 40.78°
Longitude: -74.17°

(Sadoun-Satellite Dish Look Angle Heading Calculator)
Motor Latitude: 40.8°
Declination Angle: 6.4°
Dish Elevation: 39°
Elevation: 42.9°
Azimuth (true): 180.0°
Azimuth (mag.): 193.1° using compass

The equipment:
Openbox S9 HD-PRV
RG-6 coax cable
33" Dish
Stab HH90 motor
JSC322-2 Universal KU LNBF - Twin

Okey guys, I don't want to over do it for now, although I know I have a lot more questions.
Any suggestion, guidance, instruction or help will be more than appreciated.

I've found KU signals to be the hardest to find so I always try for a c band signal first to setup a dish and then go for the KU. Do you a signal meter of any type to help local the signals?

For active transponders, you can check The List, which is hosted here at SatelliteGuys. Setting up a motor is very different from setting up a fixed dish.