GALAXY 19 Ku @ 97W

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Bman792000, Jun 15, 2018.

  1. Bman792000

    Bman792000 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio

     
  2. Bman792000

    Bman792000 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    how does a viewsat 9000 hd compare to that
     
  3. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,638
    Likes Received:
    780
    Location:
    85w
    Amiko mini hd 265 is a good receiver I own 2 older models they work well. I had SD receivers when I started out. I just built up from their. Mini has a good blind scan.
     
  4. SatPhreak

    SatPhreak SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    906
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    Don't get the veiwsat 9000. It is another old outdated box.

    Sent from my LG-M153 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  5. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,873
    Likes Received:
    4,187
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Much better compared to that receiver for sure. That receiver is outdated.
    Looking on the hack sites and getting ideas for receivers is not a good idea. ;)
     
  6. Bman792000

    Bman792000 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    I was just curious i seen 1 on ebay for 60 bucks with shipping they said they used it for galaxy 19 it looks nice.
     
  7. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,088
    Likes Received:
    2,891
    Location:
    Montana
    You were smart to find this site and ask many questions and ask for advice. It would be real foolish not to follow this advice. The FTA world is full of useless hacker junk for receivers. Those of us that have been around for years have a closet full of receivers we liked the looks of. We want to save you some money and frustration by putting you on a good choice to begin with.
     
    Titanium, . Raine and Cham like this.
  8. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Boonies
    VS 9k only does QPSK, almost worthless to FTA these days. So much is S2 and 8psk or higher modulations. You might get less than a handful of stations on 97w Ku that most of us would watch, the rest are international/religious non-english language channels. If that's what you are looking for though the receiver will work at this time, but that will change as uplinkers switch to more efficient modes.
    One positive for this receiver is that it has ATSC for local broadcasting. If you don't already have a TV that receives the digital format, this would fill in that utility, plus the FTA it still gets.
    $60 used on ebay seems a bit steep though for this vintage of a receiver. Just my 1.5 cents worth. :)

    The VS Max HD might be a better unit but a bit pricy.
     
    danristheman likes this.
  9. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,232
    Likes Received:
    1,299
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Never used the Viewsat 9000 HD so I'm not familiar with it. I found some specs here:

    http://www.oo5.com/CanadaSatellites/Receivers/Viewsat_VS9000-HD/Viewsat-9000-HD.htm

    It's definitely an older unit but specs say, if correct, that it does DVB-S2 and MPEG4 along with having an ATSC tuner for antenna. Outputs are HDMI, component, composite and s-video. If I could get one free or really cheap I'd probably play around with it but don't think I'd invest $60 when you can get new Amiko Mini HD265 with US support for just over a hundred. :)
     
  10. SatPhreak

    SatPhreak SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    906
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    It does not do DVB-S2. I repeat it does not do DVB-S2. Even on 97w it will not get two HD channels that are now DVB-S2 (AL KASS TWO HD, and Oman HD). Buy what you want but the receivers that are recommended here are better receivers, than a 10 year old non current spec box.


    Sent from my P00A using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  11. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,232
    Likes Received:
    1,299
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Like I said, if correct... ;) Thanks for the tip from someone who has actually used the box. Given that info I would definitely pass on it for a newer one. :)
     
  12. Cham

    Cham VE4GLS
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Boonies
    That is wierd about the specs. The viewsat site says qpsk only. That oo5.com site says 8psk and S2. Wonder who is right..
     
    KE4EST likes this.
  13. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    23,873
    Likes Received:
    4,187
    Location:
    EM75xb
    If I had to guess, I would surmise that oo5 is stuck with a bunch of them they are trying to sell. They will do what they can, this will include changing the specs to sound more modern.
    There were a few places this happened to. They bought pallets of these things, to sell to the hackers.
    Things changed, now they are stuck with a bunch of paper weights. ;)
     
    Cham and FTA4PA like this.
  14. SatPhreak

    SatPhreak SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    906
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    They used to be hacker boxes, if you find any doing 8PSK they are probably turbo 8PSK only.

    Sent from my LG-M153 using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  15. Bman792000

    Bman792000 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    I must be getting closer to dialing in galaxy 19. Ive been able to pick up another transponder.12028. Hitting 7 so far. I did notice it seemed like that faded out during the day and was back in this evening. Just curious 11904 on lyng sat says test card what does that mean? Ive noteced theres a tp down twords the bottom ku says wild feeds has most of the numbers with a qustion mark what does that mean can i pick that up if so how? Thanks
     
  16. Bman792000

    Bman792000 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    36 inch geosat geost ku lnb..pullin in 7 of them so far
     
  17. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    Make sure your transponder polarity V&H match what lyngsat shows. If not you could have your lnb skew wrong.
    That would cause not pulling in everything.
     
  18. Bman792000

    Bman792000 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ok will double check that it is set jus a hair past 15 standing infront of the dish turned to the left...i was told looking from behind the dish ruffly were the hour hand would b at 12:30..
     
  19. SDA_FL_USA

    SDA_FL_USA Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    Standing in front of dish rotate counter clockwise the RF connector at the bottom will be going east. not far maybe 1/2 inch have to fine tune it.
     
  20. Bman792000

    Bman792000 Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2018
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ok dose it make a diffrence moving the lnb forword in the bracket twords the dish ? At all just curious.the lnb is in the bracket so the bracket is at the front of the lnb.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...