Grounding the dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

ElectricianRick

Original poster
Mar 15, 2014
Memphis
I am an electrician doing an addition on a house. I had to move the main service/panel(s) to a new location which is an additional ~50'.
Direct TV came out today to bond the dish to the new service location but did not. I am not quite understanding what this tech is wanting and neither is the home owner. It seems to me that the tech wants me to run his ground wire for him? Or sink another ground rod closer to the dish and tie it into the main rod?

Is there a reason why the tech would not just run a new ground from the dish to the new service location?

:welcome to Satelliteguys ElectricianRick!

The installer could have been lazy, in a hurry, didn't have the proper wire (6 ga), or didn't know any better about grounding. Many dishes go ungrounded.

:welcome to Satelliteguys ElectricianRick!

The installer could have been lazy, in a hurry, didn't have the proper wire (6 ga), or didn't know any better about grounding. Many dishes go ungrounded.

So the tech would need to run #6 instead of #10 due to the distance? Wire size aside, the tech should be able to do this? And I think something was stated about having to run the coax all the way to the service and then back to the splitter. Then again, I had a hard time understanding what the tech wanted.

I informed the customer I could run the wire if he wanted to pay my rates rather than Direct TV's rates. Customer does not want to have to pay me to run the wire for Direct.

They shouldn't have to pay you for something the tech should have done. I'm not an electrician, but it's my understanding that the NEC requires 6 ga wire for grounding a dish.

They shouldn't have to pay you for something the tech should have done. I'm not an electrician, but it's my understanding that the NEC requires 6 ga wire for grounding a dish.