HD Upgrade - No Self Installation Allowed???

Status
Please reply by conversation.

OHtechguy

Original poster
Dec 30, 2010
Ohio
I've got a Quick HD question for you guys that you can hopefully put some logic to. I just got off the phone with DirecTV and two separate CSRs that informed me that I could not get HD without having one of their techs come out to my home for a Professional Installation. I am eligible for a free upgrade to HD with the usual 2 year contact and $10/month additional fee. (does that sound about right for a customer who has been with them since early '97?)

Anyway, I put the first install in and have added to it a few times over the years, and I am able to setup a new dish and multiswitch on my own. I work in IT and have all of the tools (Compression Tool, plenty of RG-6, etc) and know-how to do a simple job like this. On top of this, I am only adding a new HD receiver (not DVR), not a whole home install or MRV or anything like that.

The CSRs told me that even if I went and purchased all of the equipment on my own, I would still have to schedule a service call for one of their guys to come out and basically say "yes, it works" before they would activate my service. My question to all of you is this: Is there any way around this ridiculous requirement? I am in Central Ohio, East of Columbus (if that matters for dish type).

Thanks In Advance!

Unless you have a proper meter and the knowledge of how to point an HD dish, you could never do it anyways.
You might get the dish close, but you would never get it dead on.
There is a lot more to pointing an HD dish then standard definition dish.
Besides, it is free.

That being said, I wish they would do this with every install as I am tired of having to go back and fix customer hack jobs because it gets too technologically advanced for them.
Especially when they offer the install for free.
It takes twice as much work for a fraction of the pay.