Help me get a sat signal... any sat signal

Status
Please reply by conversation.

redhat27

Original poster
Feb 27, 2008
Hello all...

I apologize in advance for this long post. :eek:

I am very new to FTA. Over over 3 years now, I have been using a Channelmaster 4228 8 bay UHF antenna with a CM 7777 preamp to get very decent OTA terrestrial channels with the Samsung SIR-TS360 receiver.

I stay in Yuba City (zip: 95991) and the closest tx stations are 35 miles away.

Having enjoyed OTA HD for over 3 years (never subscribed to any dish/cable ) I thought of entering the satellite arena with a $175 receiver from eBay (Diamond 9000HD) which boasts of PVR, DiSEqC 1.2/USALS among other things. On the downside, I do not think it supports blind scans.

I also got a 39 inch dish, a universal "bullet" LNB and a GeoSat Pro GS-120 motor from SatelliteAV

Being a penny pincher :p, I did the installs myself, mounting the dish motor (and the dish) to the pole that holds my antenna. (Now please don't get me wrong: The dish is very stable and does not sway with winds: It is secured to the pole between the two anchors of a chimney mount very securely) I got the install parameters (angles, azimuth, elevations and such from the site Satellite Look Angles Satellite Heading Calculator Azimuth Elevation Skew Tilt LNBF Latitude and Longitude values)

I have the two RG-6 cables (coming from my existing CM-4228 antenna and the newly installed motorized dish) going to a combiner (in my attic) and then
a single RG-6 cable going downstairs to the Diamond 9000HD. It has a diplexer just before it enters the receiver (one to ANT input, one to SAT)