Hi! New to FTA, looking for advice!

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Rawmotion

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Dec 18, 2007
Los Angeles
Hey guys! I'm totally new to FTA and am looking for a little guidance. I've been lurking on the forum for a while trying to gather as much education as possible, and finally bought some gear to play around with. I'm a very techy guy when it comes to video (I actually own my own post production business), but this is the first time I've really delved into the satellite world. I must admit, I'm not one to watch TV, but as someone who regularly works on many Los Angeles based productions, many have suggested I "jack in" to kind of see what's out there, if only to say up to date with the latest trends in media.

First off, let me thank many of you for your reviews and wisdom. I decided to start out by buying a Pansat 3500SD, a Winegard 76cm dish and a Techsat Tracker II LNB. I also bought a used DirecTV dish from a guy off Craigslist. It has a California Amplifier 150517 LNB, which works with what I assume to be the "upper" Ku band (as opposed to the linear LNBs that work from 11.7 to 12.2 GHz). I'm sure you guys know what I'm talking about.

I've played with both dishes, and gotten good results. Everything seems to work as expected, based on info I've read here and in other forums.

Now on to some questions for you experts: