Homemade HD antennas

kmham

Original poster
Jun 27, 2009
Eastern Iowa
The original thread that I was reading is closed which is...
http://www.satelliteguys.us/digital-over-air-ota/119733-very-good-2-00-homemade-antenna-hdtv-4.html

But I had some questions in the above thread so I have to start a new thread...sorry to jump in 6 months later.

I really don't know anything about this stuff, but your thread has been very helpful and I believe that I will be able to build my new antenna today with just the scrap stuff that I have in my garage.

But I do have a question. Believe it or not, I don't own a single wire hanger - wife when all plastic several years ago:) And I'm not sure stores even sell them. However, I'm a regular home hobbyist and I have plenty of house wiring supplies: 14ga, 12ga, 10ga, and maybe even some heavier stuff.

So instead of using the hangers, could I use standard copper wiring? Which gauge would you recommend? Is too heavy a bad thing? I'm assuming that I'll use either the 12 or 10 gauge. I'm assuming the stiffer the better so it doesn't flex/shake/move around, etc.

Many thanks in advance.

Yes, you can use anything; I used Romex.

The problem with the bowtie antenna is that it's shockingly sensitive to variation in wire diameter and dimensions. The performance of that antenna is dependent not only on the gauge of the wire in the downleads but their distance from each other.

For $25 (shipped), you can get an Eagle Aspen 2-bay bowtie antenna that will perform better than one that you can build.

http://www.summitsource.com/product_info.php?products_id=6505{27}97

Well this is not home made, and it works actually pretty good bringing the HD channels using a Zenith converter box at the in-laws. Total cost 99cents

ist2_1238611_rabbit_ears.jpg