How do you know what you know?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

highskies

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 15, 2010
Texarkana
As I read thru some of these threads I'm blown away with some of the things some folks come up with. Speaking for myself, I'm pretty much self taught when it comes to sat dishes. Having never owned a satellite dish in my life, I successfully installed a 10' BUD back in 1995 I think, then got it on the arc. I did this by asking a lot of questions to a local dealer at the time. This was about the time the SCIFI CH aired on analog @ 125W, I'm thinking maybe transponder 4. Later on, having zero experience with a motorized KU offset dish, I successfully installed and tracked one, which is still pretty much spot on the arc now some 10 years or so later. I'm impressed with myself to be honest, considering I had zero knowledge of any of these things prior to this, but in reality, compared to some in here, I'm just an idiot, lol. But at least I'm on the list, maybe the bottom of the list tho. What I mean is, not everyone can probably do what we can do. It seems like it takes a special kind of person to be interested in this hobby, then being able to successfully do things related to the hobby, such as aiming at the sky, then getting on the arc pretty much spot on, and without any special tools on top of that..at least some of us don't have any special high dollar tools.

So enough about me. What about some of you others, especially the geniuses that keep coming up with all these things that blows my mind, things that are way over my head? How do you know what you know?