How to hook up large system

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Roofener

Original poster
Aug 22, 2012
Oregon
I am setting up a large system at my house. I am hooking up a hmc plus 6 hd receivers and a deca how would I go about doing this with 2 swm 8 switches. Is it possible off one dish? Thanks in advance for any help.

:welcome to Satelliteguys!

You can connect that many to one dish, but why not have Directv do it for you?

Because I am an installer and I get paid to do my own house. I just have never hooked up a system like this before. Why cant I do it? a swm 8 will allow up to 8 channels the hmc uses 5. Could I do it with a swm 16 instead if two swm 8's?

Because I am an installer and I get paid to do my own house. I just have never hooked up a system like this before. Why cant I do it? a swm 8 will allow up to 8 channels the hmc uses 5. Could I do it with a swm 16 instead if two swm 8's?

Yes Do it with a swm16. Less loss on splitting from dish using two swm8 and also the 16 will bridge the mrv across both 8 channel legs.

I have one for cheap if ya want :)

Sent from my C64 w/Epyx FastLoad cartridge

Roofener said:

Not to be rude but you're an installer and didn't know you need a SWM 16 for that many tuners? Using to 8 ways will give you a 771b error code because you don't have enough tuners

I figured I needed a swm 16 but we only had two swm 8 switches. An I have never did a system like this before so I thought I'd ask.

problem is he has 7 receivers ;)

me personally...use the SWM16....4 lines from LNB to SWM
one cable to the HMC
one cable to power adapter
one cable to a 8 way splitter for the 6 HD receivers