How to instal anl H25 receiver

Status
Please reply by conversation.

AdamTex

May 18, 2013
Fort Worth, TX
Good Morning,

First time poster here. I am thinking about purchasing an H25 receiver from ebay and installing it myself rather than signing a new 2 year agreement but before I do I have a question.

I currently have an H25 receiver in my home already which communicates with my HD/DVR box, I have the Whole Home DVR plan on my account. My question is, when I turn that new H25 receiver on how will it know to network with my main box? Will they sync automatically or is there some configuring on my end?

Hope this isn't a silly question, I am relatively new to all of this.

Thanks all!

Hutch1814

SatelliteGuys Pro
Jun 18, 2011
Indiana
Good Morning,

First time poster here. I am thinking about purchasing an H25 receiver from ebay and installing it myself rather than signing a new 2 year agreement but before I do I have a question.

I currently have an H25 receiver in my home already which communicates with my HD/DVR box, I have the Whole Home DVR plan on my account. My question is, when I turn that new H25 receiver on how will it know to network with my main box? Will they sync automatically or is there some configuring on my end?

Hope this isn't a silly question, I am relatively new to all of this.

Thanks all!

It'll sync automatically. It may need a software upgrade but you can either force the download or wait 24 hours for it to do it itself. Also, when buying from eBay make sure to get the RID# and call directv and ask if that RID# is leased or owned. If its leased don't waste your time, if its owned expect to have to pay $20 for a new card once you receive the receiver. Good luck and post any questions you have, it's a good forum for learning and exchanging ideas

texasbrit

SatelliteGuys Pro
Pub Member / Supporter
Cutting Edge
Apr 12, 2006