Instalations dying!

papalittle

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 19, 2005
Some old corn field, United States
I live in S. Central Nebraska and have been doing dish installs for 2 years and have done over 300 installs. Lately (the last two weeks) I have not installed more than 2 dishes. The offices (we have 3) say there is no work to be had. We sent out thousands of fliers and still nothing. I am a private contractor and have only made 90.00 this last week when i should be up to approximately 750.00. Is it really getting that slow or should i be looking for a new place to work for?

I am over in Eastern Pennsylvania. And although new to installations (2 Months) and today just got my SBCA results, 96%. I too have seen a drastic decrease in the number of installs that Im getting as well as 2 pay decreases. Still trying to find out what the industry standard is for pay rate. Perfect example: tomorrow I have 1 4 setter and its 53 miles from my front door.

the entire installation industry is going thru serious canges, and has been since before you got into it. both D and E...or the retailers/sub,sub,sub et al have required more of the "basic install" (read free phone line, free pole mount, wall fish, etc etc) while continually paying less and less. if you are making less then 70/20 you are being RIPPED OFF.

Not many of use strictly doi satellite any more but venture into CCTV, alarm systems, network, fiber optic ect.

Somethings you may want to consider looking at...if your not afraid of heights is cell tower work.
Ive been meaning to go apply for an electrical apprentiship. The thought of benifits, vacation...unemployment benifits is quite enticeing, allow i quite like the 70-80k i make a year swinging dishes...but i digress.

so yes you may want to consider your alternitives.

oh and one more thing. next time youre asked to havea rider for traing. just say NO. Your only hurting yourself.

good luck

str8poolbanger said: