International News & Wild Feeds

Status
Please reply by conversation.

chickiehaute

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jun 1, 2014
Hi everyone, my name is Chickie. I'm from Albuquerque, New Mexico with a special interest in FTA International News and Wild Feeds as a hobby from C-Band and Ku-Band.

I'm a noob with regards to equipment and resources. I am quite overwhelmed with the threads here on the message board (you have an extraordinary amount of info!), as I have made a brave attempt to search, with not much success for the answers I am seeking - it's like looking for a needle in a haystack :bow.

I really need some guidance as to how big of a dish I need based in my Southern USA location (I've been told 8' is "satisfactory, but is it?). I have an acre of land out behind my house, so space is not an issue.

I have no idea where or how to obtain a dish. I have made many calls to get more information locally from dealers and nobody seems to have any ideas, or resources for me to obtain one. It's like C-Band / Ku-Band have become and ancient form of technology when I know they haven't! (Just rare).

I'm open to buying a new dish, as opposed to dealing with something used that needs mods or repairs, etc.

Referrals for local dealers in the West and Southwest are very much welcomed.

Also, need to understand what sort of remote equipment I need to adjust the azimuth on the dish, as well as receivers, descramblers, etc.

Thanks very much in advance for your help folks!

Chickie