ISO Polar mount for 8FT Solid Dish

Discussion in 'C-BAND Satellite Discussion' started by SERAPIO, May 5, 2019.

  1. SERAPIO

    SERAPIO Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hey guys, been searching for one for a while but can't seem to find any. Not sure about Overseas due to shipping costs.

    its for a 240cm dish (8FT) Sadoun type

    any chance of anyone knowing where? Thanks
     
  2. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,080
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Well, besides trying to contact Sadoun and see if they might have some still laying around, you can check these guys: TEK2000.com
     
    danristheman likes this.
  3. SERAPIO

    SERAPIO Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    sadoun OOS
    Tek = overpriced , they wanted $429 shipped

    checked those 2 before
     
  4. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,080
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Then your next step would seem to be to keep looking around your area for a viable one. Maybe from an old fiberglass dish that isn't usable anymore, but the mount is ok. Run a "Wanted" ad in your local Craigslist, and start telling everybody you know that you are looking for one. If you are on Facebook, check Facebook Marketplace.

    You might be surprised how quickly you could find one.
     
  5. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,616
    Likes Received:
    3,607
    Location:
    Montana
    If you come my way you can have your pick ;)

    UniMesh 004.JPG
     
    lost_mesa, Brct203, Titanium and 2 others like this.
  6. SERAPIO

    SERAPIO Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    wow that's a ton of mounts. but no Montana road trip any time soon to say the least. Thanks for offering sir!
     
    Magic Static likes this.
  7. SERAPIO

    SERAPIO Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Done that too unfortunately with no results. I believe Fortecstar and WSI international Polar mount might also be a perfect fit
    The 8ft dish its solid and has 6 panels. But with the stationary floor mount/stand.

    Maybe someone here has a spare 240CM Polar mount made for FortecStar, Sadoun and or WSI International as pictured below. The ones for 180CM are smaller and wont adapt


    240cm polar mount.jpg
     
  8. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    6,616
    Likes Received:
    3,607
    Location:
    Montana
    You sure you can't adapt a 1.8m mount from WSI? I have one of those around here somewhere that has never been used. Do you have the dish ring?
     
  9. SERAPIO

    SERAPIO Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I have the dish ring made for 2.4m which is larger then the 1.8m one. I've seen the 1.8m polar mounts and will not fit the dish ring.
     
  10. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    8,080
    Likes Received:
    4,260
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    Maybe they would with some strong steel angle-iron added to stretch it a bit at each mounting tab.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...