Minor signal problem after installing Levitron multiswitch

Status
Please reply by conversation.

mmf144

Original poster
Jan 14, 2006
Hello, newbie here, please be gentle...

I just installed a Levitron 3x4 multiswitch to split my two satellite inputs from the dish (2 cables hooked up to a 3LNB oval dish) into four satellite outputs. At first glance, everything seemed to be alright, but something funky's happening with my DVR box. After resetting it and reconfiguring the box to read both tuner inputs, every now and then, the signal gets lost for about 5-10 seconds, with a message saying "searching for signal on satellite tuner 1 & 2"...but then the signal comes back pretty quickly and all is well for another seemingly random amount of time.

So, does anyone know what is going on here? Do I need to call Directv and tell them I circumvented their overly expensive installation prices and might have overlooked something? I thought this procedure was as simple as hooking up the cable and "voila," but apparently not!

Also, when I setup the DVR box, I told it that the dish was a 2LNB oval dish, because, after looking at the dish, although I have a 3LNB oval dish, only two lines are hooked up. Could this be the problem?

One more thing, this might be an issue...not all of the cables involved are the heavier gauged ones. But this is how the Directv installers hooked up the second line over a year ago, but I didn't think that was an issue.

Thanks a lot in advance,

Matt F.

From what I've read on here, I'm pretty sure you need all 4 lines from the dish put into the multiswitch, any less and it won't work right. Also the multiswitch shouild be a 4x (one for each coax from the dish) not a 3x and it must be cascadable since the 3lnb dish already has a multiswitch built-in.