Mobile locals in Auburn?

sasiki

Original poster
Oct 3, 2010
Mobile, AL
I have a similar question but I'm on DISH. I live in Mobile, AL locals and also tailgate in Auburn. I have a 3 LNB dish 1000.4 on 61.5, 72.7 and 77. I am new to satellites so I don't really understand any of it. I was locked on to all 3 satellites but when i tried to watch a local station, it said that the channel was currently unavailable and not to call DISH. They were working on the issue. When I got back home today, locals work fine. I assume it's something to do with the spotbeaming. I don't care about my own locals though while up in Auburn. I'd like to pick up Auburn locals so we can watch those channels without having to find some rabbit ears. On the signal meter screen, I didn't choose a particular transponder. I just made sure it locked onto all satellites. The transponder actually kept changing while I was trying to align the dish.

Maybe I should have just pressed the reset button on my DISH 722k HD receiver. Any ideas?

Again, I know this is a DirectTV forum, but some of the questions for dish/direct probably carry over to the other provider as well.

And War Eagle!

I moved this post from a thread in the DIrectv area to the Dish area. Even though it was the same question (Mobile locals in Auburn), the sat footprints for locals are different for Directv and Dish so hopefully the Dish folks can help out

Thanks. I have been reading for the last hour and came across something that may solve my problem. I was trying to tune into the same channel numbers as I do at home for my locals. It seems that the Auburn locals will be different channels. I will be back up there in 2 weeks for the Arkansas game. I'll try it and see what happens :)

Auburn is probably out of the spotbeam to get our locals.. So you are not going to get any locals when you go up there.. Sorry. Tuning to the channels that Auburn gets won't do you any good..