Motor on Channel Master Elliptical Dish

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

hicks107

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 21, 2010
ny
Sorry if this has been covered before. I have searched and found a few entries but I wanted to see if there was anything "new."

I have a Globecast Dish and LNB, aka [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Channel Master 36"x27" elliptical. [/FONT] I have been using it for 6 months for FTA, mostly feeds and such. When I need to move to another satellite I go out and move the dish to some markings I have drawn on the pole with a magic marker and bump up or down for elevation. This is getting trivial and its about to start snowing here in the northeast so I want to get a motor that will follow the arc for me. I have read a few older posts and some people say it cant be done, some say it can but wont track the arc, and some say it can be done with modification. I dont have a lot of tools and stuff to mod so I am hoping there is a simple "yes, buy this motor" answer. The SG2100 and SG9120 go for around $60 on ebay so I am hoping that is my solution. I am using an openbox S9 receiver.

Thanks so much.
Mike

it definitely can be done but here's a couple things to consider:
1. how heavy is the dish? is it too heavy for a diseqc motor?

2. mount diameter? if i remember the sg2100's and like motors use a 1.6 tube diameter.
Not sure about that dish but a lot of those 36" wide elipticals use 2.0 tube diameter.