Need help aiming huge BUD with 3 point mount

Status
Please reply by conversation.

radiogooroo

Original poster
Jun 20, 2011
Houston, Texas
I'm new to the forum. I'm a broadcast engineer for a few radio stations in Houston, and a BUD with a 3 point mount is whipping me.

The dish is a Scientific Atlanta 8005. It's a 4.6 meter dish - huge - and in surprisingly good shape given its age and our humidity. I'm trying to get it aimed at AMC 8, the bird that carries most of the big radio networks (Premiere, Citadel, Dial Global, etc.)

This dish has a 3 point mount instead of a regular pole mount. I've aimed several C band dishes before, but this thing is throwing me for a loop. Usually, I just set the elevation with an inclinometer, then get the rough azimuth with a compass and move the dish back and forth slowly until it locks. Can't do that with this one.

It has 3 legs, and one large adjustment screw that you bolt to each leg to move it - one at a time. I've tried doing that somewhat randomly, and was able to see satellites with a spectrum analyzer, just not the satellite I'm looking for.

Does anyone have experience pointing one of these dishes with a 3 point mount? Would you be able to give any pointers? This thing is turning into a headache and a half, and I can see why it was abandoned in the first place.

Is there a manufacturers alignment manual on line?
Can you post a couple of pictures of the brute?
We do have some commercial professionals on line, so one of them may have experience with a similar dish.

I've seen a number of fixed commercial mounts, and none register with your description.
So, I can't imagine why there would be any trouble getting the azimuth set..
... then it's just a matter of elevation.
Doubt you'd let skew give you fits. :up

edit:
you say it's old.
did you clean the wasp nest out of the feedhorn? - ;)
if it's been off-line for a while, maybe a good physical inspection is warranted.

Is there a manufacturers alignment manual on line?