Need Help Deciding

Status
Please reply by conversation.

cgraigy11

Original poster
Jul 20, 2004
Newbie here, sorry for the pathetic question(s). I would like to get DirecTV, I guess that's step one right? Next, I would like TIVO and HD. I don't really care about the HD TIVO, just want to be able to record shows.

- So I'm assuming I can have a TIVO receiver to record shows, and the HD receiver to get my HD?

- Does anybody have any luck with the OTA antenna getting HD signals? CBS, NBC, ABC, etc. Is it worth it?

- Is there a website somewhere that allows somebody to find out HD signal availability given a home address for the OTA broadcasts?

- Do all football games in the NFL package broadcast in HD?

I have tons of questions, not sure I'm ready to make the leap from cable into the world of satellite. Thanks for any help.

~Chris

cgraigy11 said:
Newbie here, sorry for the pathetic question(s). I would like to get DirecTV, I guess that's step one right? Next, I would like TIVO and HD. I don't really care about the HD TIVO, just want to be able to record shows.

- So I'm assuming I can have a TIVO receiver to record shows, and the HD receiver to get my HD?

- Does anybody have any luck with the OTA antenna getting HD signals? CBS, NBC, ABC, etc. Is it worth it?

- Is there a website somewhere that allows somebody to find out HD signal availability given a home address for the OTA broadcasts?

- Do all football games in the NFL package broadcast in HD?

I have tons of questions, not sure I'm ready to make the leap from cable into the world of satellite. Thanks for any help.

~Chris
Yes you can get TiVo and HD as separate receivers
OTA depends on where you live and what is broadcast there.
www.antennaweb.org seems to be a good site.
No all football games are not being broadcast in HDTV more will be this year than were available last year but not all will be. :)