need help finding far western sats

Status
Please reply by conversation.

quasimodem

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jun 30, 2009
Marlow, New Hampshire
I'm kind of new at this. I've been able to find the ku satellites from about 60w. to 101w. After that I can't seem to find anything.
I have a 36"x39" dish with a sg6000 motor and an Invacom QPH-031 lnb.
What puzzles me is I have a 20" dish about a foot lower that gets 119 and 110...Dishnetwork. But when I switch to the circular side of the Invacom I cannot find 119 with the Hotdish...nor can I find the Satmex sats, 123w., 127w. nor 129w.
I've tried using USALS with a strong transponder and fine tuning by moving east or west a bit, but don't find any signal quality.
I've tried moving the dish all the way west and bumping it east, one click at a time but still don't find any signal quality.
I even created a "user-satellite" and entered all the "strong transponders" for all the sats from around 100 to 129w. in the antenna setup. I then, very patiently, bump the dish a little bit at a time and check each transponder....but still haven't had any luck.
AT first I thought I just needed to lift the dish, as I'm south of a 1600' hillside (I'm at 1300'). But there's the issue of the 20" dish getting 119 just fine.
Any suggestions or ideas will be greatly appreciated.

...the picture is the Hotdish at about 123w. and the 20" dish at 110/119.

Attachments

• big little dish.JPG
    big little dish.JPG
    171.7 KB · Views: 236
It sounds to me like you are just not quite tracking the arc yet.

Have you tried USALS moving to your true south sat (72W?) and then slighly moving your dish up/down and right/left with your hands, while watching the signal quality at the same time to see if you notice any improvements with any of those movements? Of course you would have your receiver set to a strong tp for whatever sat you were peaking on.