New FTA install

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

mbw4359

Original poster
Feb 14, 2008
Gardena, Ca USA
:DOk guys I'm a newbie to FTA so be gental with me:D

That being said I just got my SonicView 4000 an ITB dish with a Dual LNB.
I'm not sure what size it is but let’s assume that it’s the 75cm.
I’m going to do the install myself.

1.) The Sonicview 4000 came with a discq (I’m not sure I that is the correct spelling of the switch)
It has labels for 4 LNBs I’m assuming that I would only connect the cables to the 1st 2?
But If didn’t want to use the 2nd output of the LNB I don’t have to use the switch right?

2.) If I didn’t have a compass or a SAT finder could I successfully point the dish? How would I go about it?

3.) Is the LNB Skew critical is there a plus or minus value etc.? I don’t remember seeing anything like that in the contents of the box to adjust for that.

4.) Geographic Azimuth -vs- Magnetic Azimuth ( what's the differance)

5.) What would be a good SAT to start with I’m @ Lat 33.9 N Long 118.3 W

I would think simple to start out with. Point at one sat before worrying about 2 and Diseqc switches. What were you interested in pointing at? G10 is a popular choice. A linear LNBF is necessary. Working on the ground level is also much easier.

Magnetic azimuth is what you will be using. The difference is the magnetic field that your compass reads for pointing your dish.

Skew is also important for proper reception of linear satellites. This setting is dependent for each orbital position.

I thought those coordinates sounded familiar. - :up