New to FTA, Found dish

Status
Please reply by conversation.

MidKnight

Original poster
Jun 7, 2013
South Carolina
I'm new to FTA and only thing I have is a scrap heap dish I found where they were pulling down a building. What can it be used for and do I need a different LNB? I live in South Carolina. Here is the dish and feed horn. The Dish is 30 in X 40 in and the feed horn has ZINWELL DRO LNB, R.F.: 11.75 ~ 12.20 GHz, I.F.: 950 ~ 1450 MHz, N.F. .8dB What is a inexpensive receiver I could get to use? Thamks, MidKnight

Attachments

• GEDC0380.JPG
    GEDC0380.JPG
    655.7 KB · Views: 305
  • GEDC0382.JPG
    GEDC0382.JPG
    993.8 KB · Views: 275
Welcome to the site MidKnight!

If the LNB and Feed are ok that will work for several things that are up there. Some of the DVB-S2 stuff require a bit bigger dish but that one will get your feet wet. There are a few receivers around that you can find used. I would spend time searching the forums here and read read read, then ask ask ask. We will be glad to help any newbie become an oldie. ;) So have you ever played with FTA at all in the past or know anybody locally that does? It is a fun hobby, it won't replace DISH or Directv, but there tons of stuff to find up there.

That dish should work well for most of the Ku-band stuff up there, but I think you will be limited to one polarity at a time with that feed/LNB setup.

You can search "The List" (tab on top of page) and Lyngsat for what is available FTA on Ku-band.