New to FTA satellite

Status
Please reply by conversation.
A lot of these FAQs don't apply to your situation... yet... but some do.
Reading this info will get you the vocabulary to better discuss FTA.

We'll work with ya, so don't get frustrated and give up.

Polarization is not a factor with circular (L/R) polarized DBS LNB.
On a multi LNB DBS satellite dish (Phase III / Dish 500...)
Now I asked about skew in my very first post; it would have been nice to know that I don't have to bother with skew given that my Phase III LNBs are circular and therefore don't need skew adjusting. I've been googling, yahooing, and searching the forum for information on setting skew when it turns out I didn't have to. With me being a complete noob at this, the less I have to concern myself with, the better for you and I:)

When that Bird (satellite) is 22,300 miles from you and your neighbor. I don't think 197' is going to make any difference. You will both be pointing in the same direction.
You see a noob can relate to this answer. Basically that statement would help a noob who is wondering if his/her elevation setting would be set to the same value no matter if the dish is installed on a three foot pole or on the roof of a house.:up

Setting the elevation is self-explanatory; If your elevation is 48, then set the ticker on the satellite to 48.