New to FTA -- some questions to be answered

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Original poster
Oct 9, 2012
Burlington, Ontario
Hello SatelliteGuys! I'm new here to discuss FTA satellite television. I'm a high school student, and I researched and learned about FTA through my uncle (who had FTA) and on the Internet (especially here at SatelliteGuys). I don't have a job now, but my uncle said to me that he'll install FTA with a small Ku-band dish and a motor this year. If I get my job hopefully by this year, then I would invest for FTA, especially the C-band dish. My primary reason to have FTA is to watch the occasional live feeds; they're better than the channels because they're ad-free, they have no commentary, etc. Watching multicultural channels is my secondary reason; I would just watch them even though I don't understand what the people are talking. I have some questions concerning about FTA: 1. Which one should I start? Ku-band or C-band? 2. Will I need to have two dishes: one for Ku-band and one for C-band? What about one dish for Atlantic sats and another for North American sats? 3. I'm considering getting a motorized offset 1.2 meter dish for C-band, since they're easier to install than the prime focus dishes with 1.8 meter and above. With a quality 1.2 meter dish like the one from GEOSATpro, a quality C-band LNBF like the one from DMS International and a quality satellite receiver like microHD, would I get more channels and feeds on each satellite? I knew that most Atlantic and North American satellites have an EIRP beam of 38 dBW and above here in Burlington. 4. If I have a big, fixed C-band dish and I switch from one satellite to another by moving it manually, is this possible when the satellite receiver is on? 5. Is possible to have FTA in two rooms, especially my room and the living room? 6. What are the differences between LNB, LNBF and "Turbo" LNB? That's it for my questions now. I knew that SatelliteGuys is giving away the microHD receiver for fre