New to OTA

Rorshach85

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Oct 14, 2011
Gotham City
Okay I'm a tech for dish and was doing an install for a lady today who was just moving into a house. She had a large antenna outside and I asked her what she was gonna do with it and she told me I could have it. I'm new to OTA and it's something I'm wanting to get into so I don't know very much about antennas at all. She said it was prolly twenty years old or so and it was pretty tall so I couldn't see any brand name on it or anything. I took some pics and there not the best but could anyone tell me if it would be worth my time to get this antenna?

image-3365881171.jpg

image-2689138238.jpg

image-4181214743.jpg

its a nice antenna but would be a pain to get down with the guy wires and everything

Also depending on your location it may be overkill. Best to post what your tvfool report says
tvfool.com

That antenna has VHF Low (2-6) which most areas its not needed anymore. Those stations when they went digital used UHF mainly or VHF Hi (7-13)

Okay when I said I'm new to this it basically means I know absolutely nothing about it. All the VHF high and low is Greek to me. Taking it down might be a pain but with my tools I could get it done. Would it work good is my question.

You can get a fairly nice new antenna for $100. How long will it take you to get this one down safely ? Do you get the mast also (which may be more valuable than antenna)? Dies this setup fit your "environment"?
VHF low is off-air RF channels 2 thru 6 which are rarely used these days. Note that the broadcaster may still be NBC 4 or similar, their actual broadcast RF is likely in the UHF (14 thru 50-something) range. So, unless you're in a market that has a VHF low broadcaster, this isn't the type of antenna that you'd buy if buying new. Not to say that it won't work - it will simply capture a wider range of the RF spectrum than you need.