Newbie here, hello. My hd is not very good, why?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

rfc

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 16, 2014
Bay Area CA
I was with Directv for 10yrs, just switched to Dish/hopper.
Sharp Elite pro-70x5fd pro calibrated, set as dot to dot.
Hopper setting are 1080, 16x9, only watch hd.

Couple weeks ago I watched the Superbowl on Fox HD channel 2
The pq looked like it was between sd and hd. Better than sd, but certainly not as good as the hd I remember I had with Directv. Why?

No setting were changed with the tv nor processor (Anthem D2v), same hdmi cable.
Dish installed their dish, ran new cable into the house.
I simply unplugged the Directv box, plugged in the hopper and the same hdmi cable.

I've tried all the motion setting in the Elite and just can't get the blur/halo effect to go away when watching hd on the hopper.
Oppo blu-rays plays perfect hd, so I know the setting in the tv/processor are fine.

Dish came out and checked everything and said, cable is fine, dish is lined up, hopper is set to hd, pq looks acceptable.
I played a blu-ray for him for hd comparison (1080p). Dish hd looks like a watered down hd. Not just against oppo, Directv also which is 1080i.

Dish sent me another hopper. The replacement hoppers are remanufactured WEZA. The first replacement was defective, so they sent me another one, also remanufactured. No difference in pq between original hopper and 2nd remanufactured one.

I really want to keep the new subscriber deal with Dish, however I just can't figure out why the hd is not as good as Directv.

Any thoughts?