Newbie To Fta, A Few Questions

Status
Please reply by conversation.

wcalifas831

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 30, 2007
CALIFORNIA
Hi there fellas, I am new to the Fta Life. I have a few questions regarding the dish I have. My friend gave me a 90 cm dish with lnb and I want to use it to get the Galaxy 10r. My question is, in case I want to look for a different satellite will I have to keep changing the elevation to find a different one or does it stay the same for the different satellites? Another question is, do I have to move the lnb around in the front of the dish arm for tilt or do I just leave it in one spot? I checked the arm angle on my dish and its exactly 45 degrees. My friend that gave me the dish said that's how it came, so does anyone think that's what the degrees the arm should be? Since I'm a newbie to this I'm wondering if I got it all right, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi there fellas, I am new to the Fta Life. I have a few questions regarding the dish I have. My friend gave me a 90 cm dish with lnb and I want to use it to get the Galaxy 10r. My question is, in case I want to look for a different satellite will I have to keep changing the elevation to find a different one or does it stay the same for the different satellites?
It'll change for each satellite, unless you use a motor that changes the elevation for you.
Another question is, do I have to move the lnb around in the front of the dish arm for tilt or do I just leave it in one spot?
You'll place the lnbf in the mount (on the arm), and skew it (turn it left/right) for each satellite depending on how far off of due south each satellite is. Again, a motor will turn the dish for optimal skewing for you, if you choose to use a motor.