Now getting c band on my 1.2 meter dish!

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jamestheman

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 15, 2008
Dallas,Texas
I got my new bsc 621 combo lnb today. Well I noticed right off the bat I couldnt get the arms to mount onto the feedhorn. I have a 1.2 meter channelmaster with the three support arms.

I ended up taking 10 tiewraps and just wrapping the thing to get it supported, and brother it is sturdy!

I used my little satfinder meter and within 5 minutes was hearing that beep that I love to hear! I actually figured I would get in and be hitting a low signal on ku and nothing on c band! I didnt even get to get it perfectly setup yet.

Well I scanned ku and was getting 40-50 pct on galaxy 25, not bad, I know I am lined up, just a matter of a few adjustments.

Well for the hell of it I set up my c band settings. I am using a pansat 2500, which didnt have any c band stored on the installation screen, so I edited a few frequencies on there just to see my level.

Well again for the hell of it I pulled a blind scan, and could you believe it! I hit 14 tps off 99 galaxy 16!! My levels on three tps are up to 78pct! and several others in the 60s! And I dont even have this setup well yet!

I had no idea I could do this with a 4 foot dish! I am blown away!

I am going to go and hook up my old analog receiver and see if any old feeds are still going!

Wow! I cant believe it!

I will send some tomorrow! I actually hooked up an old toshiba analog I had and picked up tp 17 buena vista, however it was a little fuzzy.

One thing I noticed is that the ku and c are not on the same satellite, maybe it is just the way I have it rigged right now.

iceberg, what do you recommend for the mounting the feedhorn? I have a fixed type 1.2 with the three arms on it. do I need to drill holes in the feed or is there a mount you recommend? I have not heard of anyone having problems attaching the feedhorn to their support arms.