Old 10' solid fiber dish......worth salvaging?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Castenada

Original poster
Jul 23, 2009
joplin mo
Hi guys

I'm new to dish of any sort but have been reading up on fta for a few days because my wife who is from Peru is pestering me to get her some channels from her home country. I have decided that c-band looks like the best option for us and so started looking around for unloved dishes and found a monster 10ft solid fiber dish behind this guys barn (laying face down on the ground) that he said i could have and even offered to haul it for me. It has a couple small cracks on the rim and the support for the lnb has been bent up. the support is a single arm coming from the center of the dish with 3 arms branching out to hold an alluminum plate that the lnb mounts on. 2 of the 3 arms have been bent due to it laying face down on them but i think they could be straightened without too much trouble. The alluminum plate may be another story because it is almost doubled over on itself. Im guessing the lnb is probably shot too but i probably would have replaced it anyway. There were no markings on the dish itself that i noticed to help identify it.
I know its not much to go on but I would like to get some opinions on whether or not you guys think its worth refurbishing or wheter I should just get the 6 foot motorized dish package from sadoun. I like the Idea of a new tech hobbie as im kind of a geek but is this freebie monster dish gonna be a bigger headache than its worth?:eek:

The only possible drawback is the wire mesh could be severely decayed inside the mesh.
This can cause poor performance. Also the dish probably has large hole mesh which won't work on ku too well. Give it a shot and see, it may be fine

It will be heavy. Hard to move 'n install. Might work fine.
As suggested, you may want to see.

But what Smith said is most important: pictures.
We have folks who'll give you the pedigree of many old dishes. - :cool: