Question about Magnetic Declination Help?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jdc2006

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 30, 2006
So I've been installing Directv sats for four months now. Before I started I didn't have the first clue about installing dishes. Never installed one in my life. I didn't really get much training one week to be exact. I have a question about magnetic declination. My lat and long are as follows 34° 51.744' North and 77° 35.178' West my declination comes up to -10.05. I use a birdog signal meter which is great for the directv 101 sat because when it says found you know your on the correct satellite. I know other sats don't have distinctive signals the birdog can decode so if your not pointing the dish in the right direction you may be looking at the wrong bird. Here is my question. When I look up the azimuth and elevation for the 101 its as follows for my area, True Azimuth is 217 and Mag. Azimuth is 227. My trainer told me 227, which from what I'm reading that is wrong. I should actually be pointing at 217 degrees am I correct? I use a Suuden Tandem inclinometer and always look at 227 for Line of sight. Am I wrong? I looked up the specs on the inclinometer and it doesn't allow for adjustment of the magnetic declination, so basically I'm looking at magnetic poles and will have to adjust for the declination. As long as I'm in the approximate area I can adjust the azimuth of the dish to peak the signal with no problem with directv. If I'm doing it all wrong than it will be a problem when I try to do a site survey and or peak FTA signals. Please help and explain if i'm doing this all wrong.

So have I been doing site surveys and dish pointing inaccurate this whole time?