Question regarding OTA antenna for HDTV

ndimuzio

Original poster
Dec 30, 2004
Fairfield County, CT
Hello,
I am new to this so please bear with me. I live in Fairfield County, CT.. am using DirecTV with a small Terk Sat dish mounted antenna which is not really working well at all. I was planning on purchasing a Channel Master 3019 VHF/UHF/FM antenna to mount on my chimney, but I just want to understand what I need to do with it. My Terk antenna was installed by the DirecTV guys, it has a ton of outputs on it(i dont know why, maybe 8?) and each TV has a wire coming down for off air which goes into a spliter and is then maybe into two wires which go into the off-air and sat in on the recievers. (what is the two wires to the spliter on each TV for?) I am very confused.

Being from Fairfield County myself, should be able to help :)

The dish-mounted Terks are notoriously bad, even in better places than CT. Our county has the unlucky placement of being between 2 markets (NY and Hartford). Depending on where you are, WTNH-DT is probably the first one to test with, as it's a nice strong VHF signal that's accessable from most of the county.

As for your outputs on the antenna, as I remember, these antennas have a built in diplexer, which combines the sat frequncies and the OTA signal on one coax line. The "splitter" near your TV will uncombine the frequencies.

The CM3019 will be a big upgrade to your existing setup. I would suggest also getting a rotor, as this will prove helpful in pulling in NY and CT stations.

I can also point you to some sites to help you out - let me know...

Hey, thanks for your quick response! I am planning on getting a rotor as well, so do I need to combine my signal with the Sat signal? Im confused. I have a HD Tivo and dont want to loose my duel tuner ability, please explain!

Thanks!

OK - now I see what your problem might be.