Questions on FTA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

robsadler

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 10, 2004
Charleston, WV
I am a newb to all this FTA technology. I am currently a D* subscriber. I am thininking seriously about buying FTA equipment. Below is a few questions that I have came up with. Thank you in advance for your answers.

1. Where online in your opinion is the best place to buy equipment?

2. Would a motorized dish be better? Do you have to re-alingn very often for different sats?

3. Is any of the channels HD?

4. How many English language channels are there?

5. Is there any major networks that I can receive such as NBC, CBS, FOX, or ABC?

6. In your opinion is it worth the trouble of installing it and the price for the equipment?

Sorry for all the "dumb" questions. This technology really intrigues me. I'm sort of a electronics geek.

Once again thank you in advance for your anwers.

I would check the sponsers above :)

2. Would a motorized dish be better? Do you have to re-alingn very often for different sats?
fixed dish sees one satellite. Motorized will allow you to see 20 or so satellites (depending on line of site)

3. Is any of the channels HD?
thge only HD channel on KU Band is PBS HD. There are sports feeds that come and go and those are in HD too

4. How many English language channels are there?
are we counting feeds that come and go? If no and we are dealing with KU (30" dish) a couple hundred. With feeds it varies at one time since stuff pops in and leaves all the time

5. Is there any major networks that I can receive such as NBC, CBS, FOX, or ABC?
ABC & FOX yes. There is an ABC and Fox affiliate on Galaxy 10 (123 degrees west). NBC & CBS not really. There is a NBC feed but you need either a PC card or a really expensive reciever to pick it up

6. In your opinion is it worth the trouble of installing it and the price for the equipment?
I'll answer that question with a question