Repositioning DirecTV Dish or LNB for Home2us?

Grk101

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jul 11, 2007
Hi, please bear with me as I am really new to this type of stuff.

So the Greek language channels recently moved off of DirecTV to Home2us/GreekTV-America. Apparently you can use your old DirecTV dish and LNB to pick them up on Home2us on SES-1 at 101W. I believe my set up with DirecTV was 2 LNBs, one pointed to 95W for the now unavailable Greek channels and one at 101W for basic American programing. I was told that the LNB at 95W needs to be re-pointed to 101W to pick up the Greek channels. (Dumb question, but why won't the current one at 101W work?)

Anyone have any suggestions on how to get this done? From what I have been told it is a rather easy job, but I have heard different advice on what I need to do. Someone said to just swap out the LNB from 95W to 101W, someone else said to adjust/twist the LNB at 95W to 101W, and another person told me to reposition the satellite dish. Anyone know the most effective and easiest way (especially for a newbie like me) for this to be done and what I would need? The company that is selling the Greek channels quoted me $100 for an installer to come out and do the job. Is that a reasonable price for just a simple reposition?

Any and all suggestions are welcomed. :)

The LNB at 95 is for linear signals and the LNB at 101 is for circular signals. If you switch the LNBs you will no longer get your English programing on 101W since they are different. If you move the dish by changing where it is pointed in the sky you could use it but what ever you do you will end up losing you English programing. You would still need a new receiver form Home2us no matter what you do with the dish.