RSN's in HD?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

DJ Matt

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Aug 13, 2008
I am fairly new to DirecTV. I know people who have had it, but nobody I know has the Premier package. I ordered that with the NFL Sunday Ticket deal they had. Well, there are a bunch of RSN's in HD and I know of course that the games will be blacked out, but it seems like when I am flipping through the channels that they are blacked out even when there is non-game programming. I live in the Chicago area. The only channel I have been able to pick up in HD so far on the RSN's is NESN HD which seems to have good HD coverage across the board.

I also notice on the guide that it has movies for whats currently "on" for some of the RSN HD channels. I am very confused to the sports pack as I virtually have had no luck getting any programming. My brother also wanted to watch the Brewers pre game show and I could only get it on the standard channel. The HD channel had nothing as it was blacked out.

Can someone please explain to me all of this.

I have the Premier because for everything else I want it is the best overall value; I do not have it for the RSNs, although they provide the occasional gravy.

Blackouts will extend to all league/team owned content that is broadcast; not just the game itself. If you guys got the RSN Sport Pack to get any out of local market league programming without buying the league packages, then you are mostly out of luck. The league add-ons like MLB EI and NFL ST will get you the out of market games as you know, but are rarely if ever going to show the extra team programming (other than the network pre & post shows - FOX, CBS, etc).

I am not sure why some RSNs have movies but I guess its just other way to draw viewers when they have no game or related content. Guess movies beat info-mercials!