RV Park "cable" question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

nitelife222

Original poster
Jun 8, 2011
USA
Hello,

I am new to FTA. And I am looking into building an RV park. It will be in an area where cable is out of the question. And the "dish" companies are out of their mind as far as pricing for a commercial system goes. So in my research for an alternative. I ran across FTA.

My question is. Is it possible to use a few Ku and C band dishes. Hooked to receivers. (one for each channel needed) Then each receiver sent to a combiner. Then out to the customer.

I think my theory sounds good. Just dont know if its possible without one of the high dollar hospitality "cable" routing systems.

Thanks in advance!

Trey

So long as you pipe real FTA (not subscription) programming and don't charge for it, I suspect that'd be clean.
At least if you are a small operation.
If you become the biggest park in the state, making lots of money, I'm sure someone will try to tap your cashflow. :)

There are threads here on the forum where members have described their own or others setups.
I'm sure with the available info, you can put something together.
How professional it need be, I don't know.
But if you want rack-mount receivers et al, contact Brian at SatelliteAV or look at his web site (top of any page).
He/they are gold sponsors here (but this is a personal recommendation, 'cause he gets the job done) :up

I second all of Anole's post. Particularly about talking with Brian. He has rack mount equipment and agile modulators to send the signal out over cable. Some channels will not want you to use their feeds and I think he can direct you to those who will allow you to; and maybe will also encourage you in using their signal (TBN).
What part of the country are you considering setting up? ((If you do not want to respond to that? on forum, PM me.) POP)