Should I buy this equipment?

Status
Please reply by conversation.

huertaaj

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 9, 2008
Oxford, Ohio
Newbie here so any help appreciated. Tell me if what I'm planning to do is reasonable or if I'm on the wrong track. I have a 10' dish that has a functional motor for aiming. The dish looks like it is made of solid sheet metal covered with tan-colored fiberglass. All I'm interested in is getting as many FTA channels on C and Ku as possible. This is my plan...

1) Replace the old C-band feedhorn/LNB with a C/Ku Digital LNBF (Item 3500028 from Skyvision.com for $79.95)

2) Purchase a Pansat-9200 HD receiver (From Skyvision.com for $459.95)

3) Use my old Uniden UST-4500 analog satellite receiver to aim the dish and use the Pansat as a signal meter.

Will this work? Do you have better suggestions?

Thanks, Huertaaj

Lak7: So, would the C/Ku LNBF's you mention do the same thing as the one I quoted above? Also, I'm not familiar with what a VBox or GBox positioner are but I assume they turn your dish. Would either one of these replace the Uniden box as a dish rotating controller and if so, what's the difference between VBox and GBox?

The LNBf you mention is probably one or the other that I mention. Looks like the BSC621 in the photo.
- BSC621 has built-in switch for C to Ku
- CK1 does not have built-in switch, needs to be added, users have said it performes better than
the BSC621

VBox / GBox (out of stock) would replace the Uniden as dish controller, the FTA Receiver would control everything.
Motor controllers V-box II III GBox Moteck Motech Powertwch Sadoun V3000

I would keep the analog receiver to position, there are still many analog feeds out there.

I would go with a c/ku feedhorn and quality lnb's but if you want a low cost solution the Geosat lnbf seems best.

If you are new maybe a sd receiver like a Traxis mite be a good first receiver, since the HD receivers still lack, this is of course up to you.